## **BILL STEWART AWARD**

The Bill Stewart Award is presented annually as a memorial to Bill Stewart of McComb, an outstanding athlete who was killed in action as a U.S. Marine Corps officer in the Korean Conflict. It is presented "... to the All-Star football player whose attitude, character, and conduct on and off the field best exemplify the life and endeavors of Bill Stewart, athlete, gentleman, and sacrificial patriot."

The Bill Stewart Award was initiated in 1955 by Arthur (Slick) Morton of Greenwood, former head coach at Mississippi State University. J. E (Squatty) Hall of Jackson served as chairman of the award committee from its beginning until his death in 1981.

## **FORMER WINNERS**

TORNIER WHITEING	
1955 Pete Whitehead, Winona	1987 Michael Honorable, Rosedale
1956 Cowboy Woodruff, Batesville	1988 Chris Firle, South Leake
1957 Jerry Daniels, Long Beach	1989 Gary Abide, St. Joseph (Greenville)
1958 Charles Furlow, Mendenhall	1990 Marty McWilliams, Magee
1959 Ted Miller, Gulfport	1991 Derrick Cagins, East Marion
1960 Perry Lee Dunn, Natchez	1992 Dexter Thomas, Murrah
1961 Pat Wilson, Meridian	1993 Milo Collins, Forest
1962 Mike Dennis, Murrah	1994 Jacco Cooper, Pascagoula
1963 Leslie Newton, Cooper (Vicksburg)	1995 Rob Morgan, Warren Central
1964 Duaine Moore, Morton	1996 Reggie Smith, Amory
1965 Carol Carpenter, Cornith	1997 Cleo Lemon, Jr., Greenwood
1966 Eddie Ray, St. Aloysius	1998 Ross Barkley, W.P. Daniel
1967 Archie Manning, Drew	1999 Denoah Thompson, Velma Jackson
1968 Ted Gullett, Meridian	2000 Jordan Lesley, Itawamba AHS
Jimmy Patridge, Leflore County	2001 Dewon Hart, Lumberton
1969 George Palazzo, Gulfport	2002 Brodie Jones, Wayne County
1970 Bill Buckley, Starkville	2003 Craig Agee, Taylorsville
1971 Larry Kramer, Yazoo City	2004 Isaac Bryant, Pearl
1972 Jimmy Joiner, North Panola	2005 Baylor Dampeer, Saltillo
1973 Rob Parkes, St. Joseph (Jackson)	2006 Judd Godwin, West Lauderdale
1974 Keith Wright, Warren Central	2007 Travis Walker, West Point
1975 Charlie Singletori, Greenwood	2008 Javarius Conner, Noxubee County
1976 Larry Gomila, St. Martin	2009 Donovan Hill, McComb
1977 Breck Tyler, Starkville	2009LaVadius Lyles, Forest
1978 Ricky Rozzell, Pascagoula	Dec. 2010North: Mykail Miller, Itawamba AHS
1979 Reggie Collier, d'Iberville	South: Treyshawn Mitchell, Forest
1980 Joe Carter, Starkville	2011 North: Demarrion Haynes, West Bolivar
1981 Phillip Gunn, Clinton	South: Randall Boyd, Forest
1982 Arthur" Bobo" Harris, Vicksburg	2012 North: Clifton Smith, Oxford
1983 Clarence Trotter, Greenwood	South: Antron Watts, East Marion
1984 Ben Steele, George County	2013 North: James Gilleylen, Tupelo
1985 Wesley Walls, Pontotoc	South: Kirk McCarty, Oak Grove
1986 Albert Williams, Wingfield	2014 North: Bailey Walker, Lake Cormorant
	South: Jonnas Spivey, Bay Springs