

THE RANDY MAKAMSON AWARD

Awarded in the 1A/2A Game

In the third annual Mississippi High School All-Star Baseball Game, Randy Makamson, son of Coach Owen Makamson of Riverside High School, played on the North squad and was the winning pitcher in a 7-3 North win.

Randy, an exceptional athlete, played high school football, baseball, baseball, and ran track for the Riverside High School Bulldogs, and had received a scholarship to play baseball at Delta State University. Tragically, Randy was killed in an automobile accident shortly before the fall term began at Delta State.

In 1978, the Crossroads Civitan Club (the name was changed to Crossroads Diamond Club in 1980) voted to honor Randy by presenting an annual award to the player who best exemplified the qualities which Randy possessed – thus, the Randy Makamson Award was established.

RECIPIENTS OF THE RANDY MAKAMSON AWARD

1978: Johnny Burrow, Amory	1999: Charlie Ward, Vancleave
1979: Jimmy Colmer, Pascagoula	2000: Josh Chaney, Newton County
1980: Timmy Pettit, Jim Hill	2001: Anthony Webb, Leland
1981: Mike Butler, Ocean Springs	2002: Jim Tally, Mooreville
1982: Randy Abrams, New Hope	2003: Daniel Stevens, Ackerman
1983: Patrick Robinson, Greenville	2004: Tommy Lott, Greene County
1984: Jary Tindall, South Panola	2005: Luke Baugh, Morton
1985: Paul Catherwood, St. Andrew's	2006: Mason Grissom, Taylorsville
1986: Bruce Clanton, Franklin County	2007: Dustin Warren, Raleigh
1987: Scott Cantrell, Hatley	2008: Quin Stokes, Carthage
1988: Karsten Simrall, St. Aloysius	2009: Jacob Long, Houston
1989: Craig Beesley, Cathedral	2010: Tilur Smith, Richton
1990: Chris Kidd, Ingomar	2011: Tyler Moore, Mooreville
1991: Brent Gray, Corinth	2012: Austin Welch, Hamilton
1992: Michael Hall, Nettleton	2013: Dustin "Duck" Pratt, East Union
1993: Brian Reid, Corinth	2014 : Dalton Hudspeth, Louisville
1994: Stewart Lee, Forest	2015: Connor Smith, St. Aloysius
1995: Jon Gillis, Florence	2016: Luke McKnight, French Camp
1996: Jeff Dillard, Saltillo	2017: GAMES CANCELLED
1997: Mario Willis, Simmons	2018: Cade Spratlin, Bruce
1998: LaJeremy Grant, Simmons	2019: Hunter Richardson, Enterprise-Lincoln
	2020: GAMES CANCELLED
	2021: Will Clemens, Resurrection