

## THE WAYNE "TWINK" SEXTON AWARD

## **Selected from All Participants**

Wayne "Twink" Sexton was a charter member of the Crossroads Diamond Club and served as its President and Vice-President.

Twink's greatest love was baseball. He was happiest when he was on a baseball field, either playing, coaching or just being on the sidelines. He enjoyed working with the All-Stars every year. Twink was grounds keeper at Smith-Wills Stadium when the Jackson Mets played in Jackson. You could find him at the stadium from early in the morning until late at night. This was much more than a job to him, he loved every minute of it.

When Twink wasn't on a baseball field, he could be found helping others. He was never too busy to help those less fortunate than himself. He helped raise money for many worthy causes, namely: the Ronald McDonald House, Special Olympics and the Children's Cancer Clinic at the University Medical Center.

After fighting a three year losing battle to kidney cancer, Twink Sexton died February 14, 1991. In 1991, the Crossroads Diamond Club voted to honor Twink by presenting an annual award starting with the All-Star Games in 1992. This award is given before the games are played to the player who best exemplifies the qualities which Twink possessed - happiness, an ability to share, an ability to care for others, or best all around player during practice.

## RECIPIENTS OF THE TWINK SEXTON AWARD

1992 : Teddy Hymel, Byram

1993: Brad Peterson, Louisville

1994: Donnie Odom, Petal

1995: Landon Yelverton, Taylorsville

1996: Coach Jerry Boatner, West Lauderdale

1997: Otis Seaberry, Raleigh

1998: Michael Shumaker, Forest

1999: Josh Raggio, Raymond

2000: Dee Hornesbuger, Noxapater

2001: Coach Mike Hodges, Bogue Chitto

2002: Zach Butler, St. John

2003: Jon Still, Madison Central

2004: Michael Robbins, Southaven

2005: Scott McCrory, Kosciusko

2006: Scott Haltom, St. Andrew's

2007: Travis Webster, St. Joseph-Greenville

2008: Cody Bielstein, Purvis

2009: BoBo Morgan, Forrest County AHS

2010: Coach Brad Mitchell, Ackerman

2011: Rusty Cagle, Lewisburg

2012: Coach Josh Abraham, Warren Central

2013: Reid Humphreys, NW Rankin

2014: Kirk McCarty, Oak Grove

2015: Caleb Bates, Nettleton

2016: Jack Bishop, Brandon

2017: Cole Welch, Madison St. Joseph

2018: Adolphus Brewer, West Lowndes

2019: Calabe Collins, Raymond

**2020: GAMES CANCELLED** 

2021: Carter Phillips, East Union