FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | February 19, 2023


CLINTON, Miss. – Both Mr. and Miss Basketball in 5A hoop for Vicksburg High School with Malik Franklin and Layla Carter named winner of the inaugural awards, given by the Mississippi High School Activities Association (MHSAA) alongside the Mississippi Association of Coaches (MAC) and presented by C Spire.

The MHSAA and MAC have teamed up with C Spire to recognize one Mr. Basketball and one Miss Basketball in each of the MHSAA’s six classifications. The winners in each class will be released in consecutive days, continuing with 4A on Sunday (Feb. 19) and concluding with 6A on Tuesday (Feb. 21).

Carter notched 22 points per game this season with seven rebounds, five assists, and two blocks, helping the Gators win the Region 4 regular season. The senior was named to the All-District team and District MVP. She was also a McDonalds All-American nominee.

Averaging nearly 15 points, more than three rebounds, almost three assists, and two steals per game, Franklin helped his Gators to a Region 4 second-place finish and a first-round playoff win over Lafayette.

All Mr. Basketball and Miss Basketball winners will be recognized during the 2023 MHSAA State Championships in the Mississippi Coliseum (March 2-4). Recipients will also be honored at a special awards luncheon, which will also be live streamed on the NFHS Network, in the MHSAA Conference Center on March 7.